Holy Oats!

Good morning, everyone! For those of you on East, Central, or Mountain Standard time in America (basically everyone who’s probably already started to their day), hope you’re having a great day so far! :)

I’m doing great.. I tried out something new for breakfast; new-to-me, that is!

Egg White Oats! 

Okay, I used some whole eggs instead of just egg whites, but that’s just crazy old me! ;)

I followed the instructions for how to make this baby from a post on Heather’s old blog, here!

Ingredients:

-1/3 cup oats

-2 whole eggs, 1 egg white

-1 1/2 tsp chia seeds

-1/3 large banana

-2 tsp honey

I used to think that adding egg whites to oats was just a way for people to add some extra protein to their breakfast.. In actuality, it’s a way to add gargantuan amounts of volume! I mean seriously.. You start out with a third of a cup of oats, and after adding two eggs and an egg white (maybe about 3-5 egg whites?), I ended up filling up a bowl that can hold 2 cups of the regular cooked stuff! I don’t know about you, but I love to eat. lot. I love volume in my food, so I’m definitely making this stuff again! It tasted good, and it was ultra filling, too! :D

I’m thinking the bowl of fruit I had on the side (that I eventually topped my oatmeal with– used the berries, not the melons) helped, too!

Anyway, my day’s off to a really good start! :) Having a friend over to hang out later, after Mass, and until then I’m watching shows on Netflix to pass the time…

Happy Sunday, everyone! :D

3 thoughts on “Holy Oats!

Leave a Reply

