Marvelous in My Monday {2}

Hey guys! Before I start with the good stuff, I just want to thank everyone for the love and support I got from my previous post..

A person doesn’t change overnight. From reading what you guys had to say, I obviously haven’t transformed yet to become a brand new, mega-confident person, but I want you guys to know that because of the comments I got, I feel so much better now. You set my head straight and retaught me things that should have already been ingrained in my head. You guys are right. Nobody’s perfect– I can’t always be what everyone else wants me to be, and that’s okay. If I’m going to live my life being happy with myself and everything I’m going to accomplish, I have to start doing me, and I shouldn’t change myself for others.

If I have a billion friends in high school, but lose myself in the process, then what do those friends even matter? They don’t like me for meAnd if people hate on me for being who I am, what do I have to lose? Nothing, because I’ve still got me; I’ve got my strengths, my talents, my beliefs, my brains, and real friends from my old school who already love me as I am.

It’s okay to be shy, but don’t be so intimidated by others that you give up on yourself and feel hopeless.

In the words of Sonea (;) ),

“There are always people who will try to get you down with them, but just stand over it and kindly say “fuck you guys, I’m better than that”.” (<– which is one of the few times you guys will see swearing on my blog, so save this page if you want. :P)

You can BET she knows what she’s talking about! Look at the wisdom in her eyes.. How could you NOT trust that? :P lol!

And if you want more of that brutal honesty (:P ), she wrote a whole post about this topic, too!

So, yeah! Longer intro than I wanted, but I have a habit of rambling really badly, so I’m sorry for that!

Time for another Marvelous in My Monday post! :D

Marvelous Workout:

I tried out that CrossFit workout that I got from Brittany’s site, and it was awesome! It was my first time with kettlebell snatches, and that move is so much fun, yet super hard, too!

I used a 15-pound kettlebell and a box that was about.. 24-27 inches high? I’ve never asked how high it is, and I’ve never measured, but I know that it’s gotta be at least 2 feet high! (Maybe it is, and maybe I just like over-exaggerating by adding a few more inches. ;) )

Before that, I warmed up with a 400 meter jog around the track. Then I did the workout in 29:20 mins. time, and finished with some abs and a bit of heavier-than-usual-for-me lifting– mostly focused on my back.

Awesome workout! :D

Marvelous Meals:

Lunch 

I honestly hate celery by itself, but in a tuna “salmon salad”? I actually need it there, because it just completes the whole thing! ;)

I had said “salmon salad” for my lunch/post-workout meal + half of a Granny Smith apple on the side..

In it went:

6 oz. canned salmon, drained

1 celery stalk

Handful of shredded carrots

(the servings of the following ingredients are estimated– I didn’t measure!)

2 tbsp light sour cream

1/3 cup 2% plain Greek yogurt

1/2 tbsp relish

2 tsp mustard

1/2 tbsp honey apple butter (<— don’t judge..)

Cracked black pepper to taste

And if you want to know, I also had a microwave-steamed sweet potato after that.. I just craved more carbs. ;)

Dinner

For dinner, I wanted something easy and quick, because as you keep reading, you’ll see that I also did some baking today. Therefore, I sauteed some sliced zucchini, onions, and brussel sprouts in coconut oil with garlic, then I added a chicken sausage and boiled egg to the mix before topping with cracked black pepper and serving on my plate.

I later added some fresh tomato slices, because my mom had asked me to chop a tomato for a dish she was making, but I guess she didn’t really need the whole tomato..

No problemo! Into my tummy it went! ;)

Marvelous Deed:

I changed my sheets and made my bed! :D

Gosh, it’s been the longest time since I’ve changed them. Sorry if this grosses you out, but I’ve been too lazy to do it, and my mom wouldn’t do it for me, because.. Well, my room’s been a mess in general, and it’s been hard to work your way through the clutter.

Thankfully, with the help of upbeat music played on repeat to get me through some cleaning..

My poor mother.. She had to listen to this song play on repeat for 20 minutes before I changed it! Haha! :D

I was able to make my room clean enough to where there are half as many things on the floor than there were before!

Baby steps, people.. Baby steps.. ;)

I’m planning on cleaning more on Thursday, when I’m taking a rest day from the gym, because hey! Cleaning is hard(er) work! :P

Marvelous Things:

This is where I dump all of the other things I’m happy about, because I’ve run out of other “titles” for them..

Later today, I finally hung up my “face poster” that we did as a project in school!

It’s above my bed; I hung it up after taking a picture of my “made” bed.

Took a while, but it’s finally up! :D

I also found some new fitness inspiration. Everyone, meet Ashley Horner! She has a page/profile on Youtube, and I discovered her just yesterday! She’s such an inspiration! :)

I’ve been checking out a ton of her other videos on Youtube, too, and one thing to say: I wanna be like her someday! :D (that rhymed!!)

Anyway, like I said, I also did some baking today.. I wanted to try out the recipe that Jennifer gave me for “Chocolate Black Bean Happy Bars” except as I was setting up, I realized that I didn’t have many of the ingredients needed to make them.. Fail.

So instead, I looked up a dessert recipe that uses black beans and dates (because I have some that’ve been sitting in the fridge for forever, and I felt “sorry” for them) and found this recipe for Kate’s Black Bean Brownies Sweetened with Medjool Dates

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 F degrees. Generously grease 8″ by 8″ baking pan.
  2. In food processor, place dates, 2 cups black beans, and oil or butter and puree until smooth.
  3. Add baking soda, vanilla, and 1/4 cup cocoa powder and puree until completely smooth.
  4. Taste and add additional cocoa powder, one tablespoon at a time, pureeing and taste testing after each addition, as desired. Taste testing is necessary because dates often vary in sweetness. (I use 1/2 cup cocoa powder because I prefer my brownies to taste like dark chocolate.) Mixture should taste deeply fudgy and chocolaty and not taste like black beans, dates, or overly sweet. Mixture should taste like rich dark chocolate but not bitter. Allow food processor to blend for 3 to 5 minutes without stop to emulsify.
  5. Pour batter into deep bowl. Add eggs and combine with electric mixer.
  6. Pour batter into greased baking pan. Bake until slightly firm on top and edges pull away from the sides of the pan for 30 minutes.
  7. Allow to cool slightly and cut into 6 pieces. Eat while warm. Store in refrigerator or freeze. Brownies are still delicious when they are eaten slightly cold.
I had one after baking, and it tastes exactly like a brownie!! My mom –AKA: lady with the biggest sweet tooth I know of!– liked it, too, and she was amazed at how cake-like it is!

LOOK AT IT! It’s like a real brownie!! :D

It’s pretty dense, extremelely moist, really chocolate-y, and it’s so much healthier than a “real” brownie! To think, it doesn’t have any flour or added sugars –it’s only sweetened by the dates– , it’s got a ton of fiber, and you can always use coconut oil (like I did) if you’re wary of using butter, canola oil, or what-have-you! I love how simple it is, with those few ingredients! :D
What else did I made today? Honey Cinnamon Roasted Chickpeas..
 
These are really simple to make, but I’ll spare you all of the reading here and just tell you to go press the link for the recipe and procedures..
These’ll make a tasty snack! I already had a few while waiting for dinner to cook.. ;) (more than in the picture, believe me.. This is just me showing you what they look like!)
Anyway, that’s about it for today’s post! I hope you’re all starting your week off on a good note, too! :)
I’m gonna go now, and pick out a movie from my “collection” to watch. ;) Night!!
9 thoughts on “Marvelous in My Monday {2}

  1. Haha you’re super cute, darling! :-D I’m sorry, but I can’t express myself without swearing, though I don’t really swear in real life to be honest hahah. I’m weird, aren’t I? :-D Anyway, keep going! And whenever you need a cheer-up, just message me! :-)

      • Yes! That was the plan. ;) And YEAH. Seriously, if only MY eyes and smile radiated as much joy as yours do.. I’d be set. :P

        And I don’t judge with the swearing; a lot of my friends do it, but I’m the immature one who still refuses to do it, because it still makes me uncomfortable. :P I know you don’t swear much, anyway, because you don’t really do it when you write. If you feel passionate about something (like you did in that comment), then I say have at it and say what your heart really feels! :D

  2. I am glad you liked the workout! I am trying to beat the time I had… I was at 25 minutes but my goal is 20! Possible? OF COURSE! :) I would also just really like to commend you for your eating habits. SO MANY girls our age are fearful of foods. That, or they eat pure crap. You, on the other hand, eat the tastiest looking food EVERRR and you get it. More people to learn to be like you! In all seriousness. Those brownies look awesome! I have never had dates and every time I see them I am reminded of cockroaches lol! But I must try them. :) The chickpeas look awesome too! That girl in the video is gorgeous. When I compete one day hopefully I can get my body like that LOL! :)

    • Thanks, Brit! Your time is AMAZING! Haha, I guess MY goal is to get it down to that! ;) Anything’s possible if you work on it, right? :D

      Also, I think my sister being on the Paleo diet kind of helped me see how natural foods are the way to go! That means not fearing the carbs, the fats, etc.. Just as long as you’re eating whole foods, and not crap. (i.e. tons of things on the ingredients list)

      You DO need to try dates, by the way! And if you do, don’t go for the boxed, packaged stuff.. Do the Medjool dates from Trader Joe’s! That stuff is the BOMB. :D

Leave a Reply

